Plastic Bag Ban Violation Penalty
What if I keep handing out plastic bags after March 1st, 2020?
It’s that time. New York State’s banned plastic bags. You think to yourself: so what?
Your business has likely been a very small contributor to the 23 billion plastic bags that residents of New York had been using annually. Not even a drop in the bucket, right?
As a small business owner, you are required to be compliant with Article 27 of the Environmental Conservation Law (ECL). Your bottom line depends on it.
Violations & Penalty Fees
New York State businesses that are found to be in violation of this law for the first time will receive a written citation without a financial penalty. A second violation will result in an immediate $100 penalty. Subsequent violations are $500 per violation. These $500 penalties are unlimited and can increasingly impact your revenue and reputation.
Remember that any business required to collect tax will no longer be able to provide plastic carryout bags, as defined in Title 28 of the ECL, to their customers. While there are some exceptions to this rule, the vast majority of brick-and-mortar retailers are not exempt.
Learn more about paper bags and reusable options that fit your business here.